STUDENTS PARENTS ALUMNI FACULTY PTA

“One Book, One School” Resources

“One Book, One School” Resources

“Five Economic Lessons of the Hunger Games” 

“Reading for the World”

The Odds Ever in Your Favor:  Ideas and Resources for Teaching The Hunger Games

“The Hunger Games- Themes”

“How Teachers Can Use The Hunger Games in Science Lessons”

 

Writing Prompts & Other Activities from www.HungerGamesLessons.com

Written by Tracee Orman

These are all links to articles I wrote on my blog, Hunger Games Lessons.  Each one offers ideas you can implement in your own classroom.  Enjoy!

Projects:

Hunger Games Projects Activities:  http://www.hungergameslessons.com/2011/02/hunger-games-projects-encourage.html

Using Facebook for Character Sketch/Summaries:  http://www.hungergameslessons.com/2011/01/using-facebook-concept-for-modern.html

Rebel Propos Project:  http://hungergameslessons.com/2011/04/from-mockingjay-rebel-propos-we.html

Word Clouds Activity:  http://www.hungergameslessons.com/2011/04/new-way-to-wordle.html

Create an Original YouTube/Google Video Connection:  http://www.hungergameslessons.com/2011/04/my-hunger-games-lessons-youtube-video.html

Using Glogster to Promote Creativity & Incorporate Technology: http://www.hungergameslessons.com/2011/03/using-glogster-to-promote-creativity.html

Service to Others Project:  http://www.hungergameslessons.com/2011/01/celebrate-martin-luther-king-jrs-life.html

Hunger Games Valentines Activity:  http://www.hungergameslessons.com/2011/02/inspire-creativity-with-hunger-games.html

Map of Panem Activity:  http://www.hungergameslessons.com/2011/01/my-updated-map-of-panem-hunger-games.html  See also “What’s My District” for new information added by Lionsgate:http://www.hungergameslessons.com/2011/08/whats-your-distribt.html

Suzanne Collins Biography (Creating a Comic Book Bio): http://www.hungergameslessons.com/2011/08/exclusive-hunger-games-author-suzanne.html

Writing Prompts/Questions for Students:

Symbolism of the Luna Moth:  http://www.hungergameslessons.com/2011/06/whats-so-important-about-the-green.html

Connecting the Holocaust to The Hunger Games Trilogy: http://www.hungergameslessons.com/2010/12/connecting-hunger-games-to-holocaust.html

Science Connection:  http://www.hungergameslessons.com/2011/04/wow-factor-of-nature-by-guest-blogger.html

Hunger Games Fireside Chat – Patriotic:  http://www.hungergameslessons.com/2011/07/listen-to-fireside-chat-tomorrow.html

Hunger Games Fireside Chat – Listening & Writing:  http://www.hungergameslessons.com/2011/06/have-you-listened-to-hunger-games.html

If Katniss & Peeta Celebrated Thanksgiving:  http://www.hungergameslessons.com/2010/11/if-katniss-peeta-celebrated.html

Hunger Games Life Lessons Activity:  http://www.hungergameslessons.com/2010/12/live-learn-and-pass-it-on-life-lessons.html

Teaching Ideas & Examples:

How Other Teachers are Using The Hunger Games in Their Classrooms: http://www.hungergameslessons.com/p/how-teachers-are-using-my-hunger-games.html

Class Reaping Ideas, Pictures:  http://www.hungergameslessons.com/2011/05/class-reaping-and-training-let-games.html

Teach Vocabulary Creatively:  http://www.hungergameslessons.com/2011/03/teaching-vocabulary-with-creativty.html

Using Visual Aids in Classroom:  http://www.hungergameslessons.com/2011/01/use-visual-aides-in-your-classroom-to.html

Life Lessons Activity:  http://www.hungergameslessons.com/2011/01/examples-of-life-lessons-great-way-to.html

Poetry Activities & Connections:

Poetry/Earth Day Connection:  http://www.hungergameslessons.com/2011/04/on-earth-day-there-will-come-soft-rains.html

Poem in Your Pocket Day:  http://www.hungergameslessons.com/2011/04/what-is-your-favorite-poem-celebrate.html

World Poetry Day Activity:  http://www.hungergameslessons.com/2011/03/happy-world-poetry-day.html

O Captain My Captain Whitman Poetry Activity:  http://www.hungergameslessons.com/2011/02/o-captain-my-captain-whitmans-tribute.html

Helpful Articles:

Defense for Teaching The Hunger Games:  http://www.hungergameslessons.com/2010/11/defense-for-teaching-hunger-games-to.html  If the book is ever challenged at your school, I have some arguments in this article that may help you.

Rating of The Hunger Games Movie:  http://www.hungergameslessons.com/2011/03/why-is-rating-of-hunger-games-movie.html

(How I Began) Teaching The Hunger Games:  http://www.hungergameslessons.com/2010/11/teaching-hunger-games.html

Why Teach The Hunger Games:  http://www.hungergameslessons.com/p/why-teach-hunger-games.html

Beware the Ides of March—Julius Caesar Connection:  http://www.hungergameslessons.com/2011/03/beware-ides-of-march-lessons-men-can.html

Listing of All My Materials:  http://www.hungergameslessons.com/p/list-of-all-lessons-available.html

All articles copyright ©Tracee Orman for Hunger Games Lessons, 2010 – 2011

www.hungergameslessons.com

.